The Diocesan Catholic Committee on Scouting (DCCS) is a group of Catholic lay people and clergy who give guidance, vitality and leadership to the spiritual programs that are available for members of Scouting America, Girl Scouts USA and kindred scouting movements in the Diocese of Springfield in Illinois.

Goals of the Catholic Committee on Scouting

  • to invite all Catholic Scouts to fulfill the duty to God portion of the Scout Oath through participation in Church activities
  • to develop, implement and sustain Catholic activities for all Scouts and Scout leaders in the diocese
  • to provide training and support for adult leaders on the religious programs for Scouting America, Girl Scouts USA and other kindred scouting movements
  • to meet regularly to be able to effectively carry out diocesan and national programs and activities
  • to promote participation in regional and national events for representation, training and information
  • to assist parishes and other church-related societies in the diocese with the establishment of units within these organizations
  • to advise local council offices that operate in the diocese on all matters relevant to Catholic Scouting
  • to perform other duties as assigned by the Bishop or his designee
Ordering Religious Awards

To order medals for Light of Christ, Parvuli Dei, Ad Altare Dei, Pope Pius XII, God is Love, Family of God, I Live My Faith, Mary the First Disciple, Spirit Alive or Missio, please download and mail the form below to the Diocesan Catholic Committee on Scouting.

Download The Religious Awards Order Form

To order workbooks for God Is Love, Family of God, I Live My Faith, Mary the First Disciple, Spirit Alive or Missio recognitions, or to order patches for the Women in Scripture or Models of Faith series, please order them directly from the publisher, the National Federation for Catholic Youth Ministry.

Venerable Father Augustine Tolton Activity Patch

Scouting and Parish Ministry

The Catholic Committee on Scouting for the Diocese of Springfield in Illinois has published a comprehensive guide for parishes that charter a Scouting America unit.



The DCCS serves the 28 counties in the Diocese of Springfield in Illinois. This area covers all or portions of 2 Girl Scout Councils and 4 Scouting America Councils including:

  • Girl Scouts of Central Illinois: Adams, Brown, Cass, Christian, Douglas, Greene, Macon, Menard, Montgomery, Morgan, Moultrie, Pike, Sangamon, Scott and Shelby Counties
  • Girl Scouts of Southern Illinois: Bond, Calhoun, Clark, Coles, Crawford, Cumberland, Edgar, Effingham, Fayette, Jasper, Jersey, Macoupin, and Madison Counties
  • Mississippi Valley Council Scouting America: Eagle Ridge District
  • Greater St. Louis Council Scouting America: Piasa Bird District, Cahokia Mounds District, Arrowhead District, and Redhawk District as well as portions of Illini District and Black Gold District
  • Abraham Lincoln Council Scouting America: All districts ~ Honest Abe District, Log Cabin/Railsplitter District, Lincoln Home District
  • Prairielands Council Scouting America: Prairie Fire District ~ Douglas County; Many Trails District ~ northern portion of Edgar County

Counties include:

Adams, Bond, Brown, Calhoun, Cass, Christian, Clark, Coles, Crawford, Cumberland, Douglas, Edgar, Effingham, Fayette, Greene, Jasper, Jersey, Macon, Macoupin, Madison, Menard, Montgomery, Morgan, Moultrie, Pike, Sangamon, Scott, and Shelby


Stay up to date with all the latest information from the Catholic Committee on Scouting:

Subscribe to the DCCS eNewsletter


(217) 698-8500